Share Image
Where we work

Empowering women to empower the Sahel

Partner countries

Since 2015, twelve sub-Saharan countries have sought to reduce gender inequality through SWEDD

The Women's Empowerment and Demographic Dividend (SWEDD) came into effect in 2015 in six Sahel countries: Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Mali, Mauritania, Niger and Chad. In 2020, Benin, Cameroon and Guinea joined the project. The new SWEDD+ (approved in late 2023) is being opened up to other countries in sub-Saharan Africa, with the addition of Senegal, Togo and Gambia (making a total of 12 countries involved). 

The project also invests in building the capacity of strategic regional partners such as the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), which includes the West African Health Organisation (WAHO, the health arm of ECOWAS), the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) and the African Union.